Law Offices of Robert B. Muchinsky, LLC
Call 24 Hours A Day — 7 Days A Week.

Investigated Or Accused Of A Crime?

Can I avoid jail time after an OUI conviction in Connecticut?

On Behalf of | Nov 22, 2019 | Firm News

An operating under the influence (OUI) conviction has severe consequences no matter what state you live in. Most states provide alternatives to jail and leeway for first-time offenders, including Connecticut. If this was your first offense, you might be able to avoid jail time altogether by attending a diversionary program.

OUI penalties and avoiding jail time

After being arrested for suspected OUI, there are a host of criminal penalties you might face. If this was your first OUI conviction, you could face the following penalties:

  • Fines up to $1,000
  • License suspension of 45 days
  • One year of using an ignition interlock device

Connecticut offers you the option of performing 100 hours of community service and probation in exchange for not receiving any jail time. However, there is a mandatory 48-hour jail sentence that you must serve.

Additionally, like most states, Connecticut has implied consent laws. Implied consent laws state that you must submit to a chemical test of your blood, breath or urine for alcohol detection. Refusing this test means you will have your driver’s license suspended.

What alternatives to incarceration does Connecticut offer?

There are a couple of programs that first-time offenders can attend that relate specifically to alcohol. If you qualify, your OUI charge could be removed from your record if you attend one of the following programs:

  • Alcohol education program: This course includes at least ten classes, although more could be mandated based on the judge’s discretion. Once you have completed this course, your OUI charge will be dismissed.
  • Community service labor program: This community service program does not include the 100 hours required to avoid a jail sentence. You must perform community service for 14 days and attend multiple drug education classes. You will have your charge removed from your record after completion of this program.

It is recommended that you speak with a lawyer if you have been charged with OUI. Having a lawyer involved in the process early can help you explore your options.