Statutory rape (sexual assault charges brought based not on the issue of consent but rather based on the age of the parties involved) is one of the more confusing areas of criminal law. Much of the confusion on this issue stems from the fact that there isn’t a standard, federal age of consent, but rather different ages in different states.
These laws exist to protect minors from predatory behavior by adults. Unfortunately, the potential exists for people in consensual and healthy relationships to wind up in a legally problematic situation because of a sexual encounter they had.
The better you understand how the law works in Connecticut in regard to age and sexual activity, the better able you’ll be to make informed choices in your personal relationships or to offer good advice to your young adults as they start dating.
People can face criminal charges if their partner is under 16
Connecticut does not actually use the term statutory rape in its law. Instead, it has laws that specifically prohibit sexual activity and make it a felony to have sexual contact with someone between 13 and 16 years of age if the other party is more than two years older. It does not appear that you can be charged with a crime for consensual sexual activity with someone who is 16-years-old or older.
Those accused of age-related sexual offenses may have defenses available to them including being the victim of fraud themselves. If you’ve been charged with a sex crime related to the age of consent, having an experienced defense attorney in your corner is essential. The consequences of a conviction are serious and can affect the rest of your life.